• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Hypostomus

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been doing research for a few months now on what cichlids to feature in a West/Central African 120g community I'm setting up in September. I am naturally partial to the Pelvicachromis species, especially the "new" P. rubrolabiatus, but I am planning to house these fish alongside, among other things, one of the smaller bichirs (12" maximum size). While two people I have talked with that have kept this sort of set-up assured me that even these smaller species would be alright given the tank size and the size of the Polypterus, others have had a right fit over the idea.

So currently I am toying with exchanging at least one of my potential Pelvicachromis pairs with one of the larger African river/misc. cichlids in hopes that any issues with the bichir will be effectively eliminated. However, the only one I really know about that might be suitable is S. causarius. Does anyone who has kept these fish have some additional recs for me? Thank you for any help. :)

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't really anticipate any problems for the adults given the species you mention. Just keep in mind the interbreeding possibilities when housing multiple Pelvicachromis species in the same tank.
Only the larger, more robust bichers woud be a problem for an adult specimen of one of these cichlids. They will however eat fry, kind of a bummer really given the fact that courtship and spawning behavior is one fo the big attractions for the this family of fish.
Frankly, if it were me, I'd forget about the bichirs and just set up a nice cichlid tank.

Jim

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are you going to add any of the indigenous tetras? I have a real thing for those Congo tetras, oh MAN do I!

Hypostomus

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
JimM":2i6qb1d6 said: