• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Eboman

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My first system was a 29 gallon FOWLR. It was COATED with corraline.

Now I've been running a 55 gallon FOWLR for about 2 years now and I cannot repeat my success with the corraline growth.

I use Seachem products, since they seemed to produce the best results last time. Today I got some TropicMarin biocalcium (it was on sale).

What would be the recommended water parameters for maximizing corraline growth?
I have my Lamotte test kits ready to go!!

Thanks,
Eboman

Lunchbucket

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i can't get any on the back glass. just starting to get 3 or 4 discs about 1/2 a dime size on my left side.

any help please

later
Lunchbucket

2poor2reef

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My experience has been that if you have some to start with and you maintain CA levels at 400 or above and the light is not too bright it will grow very well.

hectina

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I drip Kalk 24/7. Although it hasn't spread, the coraline is absolutely luxurious. I missed one week's dosage of Kent Strontium, and it started to die off quick. After dosing the tank it came right back.

drcarr

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What else do y'all put in your tank to stimulate corraline algae. I dose kalk as top off water and nothing else. Should i be dosing other things to stimulate growth?

jmeader

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just keep your alk above 2.5 Meq and Cal above 375ppm. Then seed the tank with some coraline scrapings and LR. It is an algae and does need nitrates for food.

hectina

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
drcarr,

Try adding strontium and iron. I mix in vinegar with my Kalk.