jamesw

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Minh et al:

I was referring to the "holdfasts" when I said that I don't believe they play a role in uptake.

Hope that clears that up.

James

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr>Originally posted by Mouse:
<strong>I was just thinking that Lava Rock might actually be good for marine tanks after all..... So whats stopping me from using Lava Rock to make live rocks????
</strong><hr></blockquote>

Well I am not an expert on this one but I think you need to now just what form the iron is in and how fast usable (metabolizable) iron is produced. Off the top of my head I remember that it was thought that the lava rock was so high in iron that a bloom to end all blooms would be in store for the “Lucky” reefer.

For “Cheap” live rock you could do a couple of things.. I know that there is some DIY rock projects listed out there that use certain kinds of cement that have to be “Cured” and also you could use dead base rock and transform it over time to biologically active live rock. So for a big tank you could use 1/3 initial live rock and 2/3 dead base rock and wait a while to add large bio-loads until the base gets bacterialized.

liquid

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
From what I understand, lava rock can contain many other elements besides iron, many which are NOT good for the reef tank.

Shane (aka "liquid")

Mouse

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Liquid, NASA, thank you.