• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

dangerboy

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I'm new to marines, and have had my tank set up since January, I've just added my first 2 corals. I don't know what type they are, so any help is appreciated. BUT I added them yesterday, this morning I went down to the tank and the bigger 'leathery' coral has what look like cobwebs on it (I'm guessing mucus?) and brown spots coming from the pores. I've attached pics (sorry they are not that clear, but I havn't perfected underwater photography:) )

Any help is gratefully appreciated.

Tank details:
48x18x12
fluval 204 external
802 powerhead on undergravel
protein skimmer
one Blue Actinic and one White Flourecent Tubes
Ocean rock and some live rock

Livestock:
4x percular clowns
1x maroon clown
1x boxer shrimp (tyson :twisted: )
1x hermit crab
2x snails
and some other crab that came on my live rock!!

Attachments

• pict0003.jpg
    pict0003.jpg
    62 KB · Views: 3,473
  • pict0004.jpg
    pict0004.jpg
    70.1 KB · Views: 3,470
A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A few modifications you might want to make.

Get rid of the Fluval and the undergravel. Your protein skimmer (depending on which one you have ) should be plenty.

And it doesn't seem like you have enough light to keep corals. Two standard florescent tubes over a 75 gallon tank is not quite enough. Look into some power compact (or even VHO), or possibly metal halide lighting.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also, for picture taking, turn off your camera's flash and all the other lights in the room - so that the aquarium is the only light source, thereby the brightest ... :)

dangerboy

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0