• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

Galvan

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just purchased a finger leather coral or tree coral from pet shop, was awesome looking in the show case tank. After bringing coral home and placed in my tank with in a few days the coral has fallen apart. I'm new to the coral department and now thinking that maybe one of my animals got to it. There are some pieces that are coming off, should I remove the coral from the tank? Or do I leave it in there. Pic attached.

have-
1 yellow tang
1 blue tang
1 coral beauty
1 maroon clown
1 royal gramma
1 green mandarin

1 brain coral
1 carpet coral
1 frog spawn

Attachments

• finger leather.JPG
    finger leather.JPG
    204.4 KB · Views: 2,128

Old Man Of The Sea

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What is your tank parameter reading? Calcium and do you have Iodine drops as this coral would do well under VHO and is one the easiest corals to care for so I not know why it could died like that on you?

Also that it needed a good water current so the question would be is, what size tank is this and how many power heads you have for your water currents.

I had this coral as one the first coral years ago in my old 180 reef tank and it has grown quickly so I cannot see why you had this lost :( as you did unless your calcium was very low and that you not as well added Iodine drops when you should have.

So even being new to corals as you said, you shouldn't have had the problem you did for the Iodine I speak of, when my reef tanks are ready, I will use the stronger professional Iodine and if your tank is rather small, you not want to get the stronger Iodine.

So a salinity of 1.024-26 (I have my main tanks at 1.026 with a Ph of 8.4 and temp at 78-79 F.. Also all your other test show good that your nitrates are not more then 5 PPM and zero be far better as after your tanks cycle is completed, you shouldn't ever again have a nitrite or ammonia reading.