dbsherwood

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've now got my refugium and will put it online next week. It's 36"x22"x24", and should, if used wisely and for the good of fishkind, eliminate the remaining few nitrates in my tank. It should also be a pretty cool place to put sea horses or other little fish that like the lifestyle that refugium living provides.

My question for folks: I've heard that if caulerpa gets too dense it can go sexual on you, turn white, die, and make a mess of everything, so it has to be regularly croppped if it's used in a refugium.

Does anyone have suggestions as to the best algae type(s) to use in a refugium? How much sand and what types do you like to put in? Thanks for your response.

ThrillYa

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't know what is the best but I've been using grape caulerpa (racemosa) for about 3 years and haven't had any problems. I do run the refugium lights 24 hrs and harvest every now and then.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Chaeto is nice, easy to remove if you change your mind, and doesn't seem to crash as folks have mentioned. Baby banggai love to hide in a nice fluffy ball of chaeto, very cute.

Although I have never had a problem with caulerpa going "sexual" and crashing on me in a refugium, I think because I harvest it. It is kind of nice to grow a caulerpa that your tangs like, so you can pull some out and give them some fresh food every once in a while.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Laura D":1cq3euit said:
Although I have never had a problem with caulerpa going "sexual" and crashing on me in a refugium, I think because I harvest it.