amandab

Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to saltwater and I would like some opinions from any who would care to share... Tank will be 70 gallon 50"x18"x18" (DIY). Filter: Magnum 350 canister filter. Skimmer: Bak-Pac 2. Powerheads: 3 Maxi-Jet 1200's. Heater: Ebo Jager 250 watts. Lights: 4 bulb VHO ballast with 48" tubes of different light spectrums for a total of 360-410 watts for the tank. Live sand/ DSB: 100 lbs. of Southdown 50 lbs. of Live sand. Live rock: 100(?) lbs. Inverts and corals: 5 scarlet reef hermits, 5 blue leg hermits, 20 astrea conehead snails, 1 red serpent sea star, blood-red fire shrimps, scarlet skunk cleaner shrimps. Button polyps, toadstool mushroom leather coral, Hairy mushroom coral. Fish: 2 ocellaris clowns OR 1 ocellaris clown and 1 cinnamon clown (added at the same time), 1 fridmani pseudochromis, 2 neon blue gobies, 4 blue green reef chromis.
Which rock is better, cured or uncured? Are there pros and cons to either? From what I can find, everyone on this list will " live happily ever after", does anyone disagree? Thanks to everyone!

danmhippo

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1 ocellaris and 1 cinnamon may not work. Cinnamon will eventually beat the crap out of the ocellaris. Whichever clown specie you want to go with, get 2 small individuals and one of them will turn into a female.

LR get uncured. Even if LFS tells you it's cured, chances are you will experience cycle again after you bring them home. In theory, uncured rock are cheaper, and there will be more (life) on the rock.

No livestock should go into the tank until the tank is fully cycled, and water changed at least once after cycle. I would also suggest you setup a quarantine tank for all new arrivals (except the rock, obviously).

I would also drop the magnum filter. It's not needed in the reef setup. I suppose you have a sump too, right? Have you thought about adding a refugium?

danmhippo

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0