• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

bruno321

New Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a complete newb when it comes to SaltWater fish & aquariums. I've tried looking on REEFS.org and it's helpful, but can anyone recommend a series of good newbie articles or books? I don't know a good place to begin.

A

Anonymous

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here's what I did:

1. Bought a book. I chose the book book Natural Reef Aquariums: Simplified Approaches to Creating Living Saltwater Microcosms because it covered fundamentals of ecosystem design, illustrated some biotopes and basically worked on foundation knowledge, staying away from equipment or trend based info.
Look it up on Amazon or wherever you prefer; ISBN: 1890087009

2. Use the search feature. Why? Because all our questions have been asked 1000 times and there are already hundreds of answers out there waiting for you! Usually I get really annoyed when people say that to newbies, but here it's actually useful!

3. Ask smaller questions with limited scope if you are confused as to how the parts all fit together. Don't worry about the best brand of refugium if you don't know what a refugium does or why a person would cultivate macroalgae like Calupera.

4. Bing!
http://www.reefs.org/library/subject.html

Len

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
rdo_welcome.gif

Check out our New Reefkeepers Guide to Reefs.org's Resources. ( http://www.reefs.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=33928 ) On the very bottom, there is a link to recommended readings for beginners (or you can get there via mountainbiker's links).

smlacy

Experienced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Find a real-life friend who's kept a reef before.

My biggest advice came from a friend who has had successful reef aquariums in the past. Having someone you can call on a moments notice is actually really good. It'll help you keep a more level head, as its easy to see something minor and start freaking out about it.