• Why not take a moment to introduce yourself to our members?

a novice

Active Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone!
I’m new to salt water aquariums and I was hoping that some of you more experienced people could help me. A while back I had a big (120 gallon) freshwater aquarium but had to sell it because of relocation. I would like to start a new aquarium and would like to try a salt water one. A fish only setup seems to be a good idea for a beginner tank but I would like to have the capability of going to a reef at a later time. I was thinking of a tank somewhere between a 30 and a 55 gallon. I would like to keep a few clown fish and maybe some small fishes. Here are the questions that I have come up with after reading and researching:
Is bigger really easier? I’ve read many places that bigger is easier because it’s harder to mess up the water(like pH, chemical, etc.) but I don’t really want to have a huge tank. I like the idea of a small/mid size aquarium(30-55).
How many clownfishes can you put in a tank? This is an issue I’m really confused about. Some books say a school is fine, some say that one is the max, and others say it’s best to keep them in a pair. I’m thinking of getting two tank raised false percula clown fish to put in my tank but if I could, I would like to get another pair of a different type(maroon, tomatoe..?).

I haven’t bought any equipment yet because I was hoping to get an ‘all in one’ package. Do any online stores sell an all in one type package that includes the tank and equipment? I’ve check my local stores but I’m not that confident in their knowledge and wouldn’t buy any livestock from them because of the tank conditions. Recommendations anyone?
Thanks for all the help and you could answer any of my questions it would be appreciated!

Quillen

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0