A

Anonymous

Im pretty new at this so bare with me:
Im in the process of setting up a natural reef tank. Im talking with various other hobists about the step by step do's and don'ts of how to do this.

I have a 75 gal tank. the question is this: Do I need a sump or not. If so why or why not. ie pros and cons

Also: if i do need one I have a 15 gal tank i can use.. how ever, I dont know the first thing about setting it up.. could you also tell me what is involved. ( remeber to use little words no more then 1 or 2 syllables and please use words in english). Baby steps if you will 8O

Thanks in advance for your help
:roll:

Len

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
rdo_welcome.gif

You're probably unaware, but "The Sump" forum isn't really about sumps ;) It's an "off topic" forum for our members to discuss non-reefkeeping material. I've moved you to our New Reefkeepers Forum which you'll find more responses to your reefkeeping questions. Welcome to our family! :P

Jolieve

Advanced Reefer
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am fairly new at this myself. Welcome to reefs.org! You've come to the right place.

You want a sump. Here's why: More surface area = better gas exchange. More oxygen in the water, less carbon dioxide. That means you're going to have less problems with algae in the future as a lot of nuisance algaes need higher carbon dioxide levels to survive.

Further pluses for getting a sump (and I think 15 gallons might be a tad small, might want to look into something bigger). You can store your heater, skimmer, carbon bags and most any other tank gear.. in the sump! Thus having it not clutter up your tank with bulky equipment. Also, a sump will provide you with an easier means for cooling the tank during those hot summer months.